About Season Three

Shakespeare Republic is made up of three seasons, totalling 43 episodes to date, covering a wide range of Shakespeare’s characters – all set in the 21st Century, using Shakespeare’s original text. To find out more about the cast, crew and our overall philosophy, check out our About page.

Filmed in lockdown during the global pandemic of 2020 …
Twenty four souls, six cities – one shared experience of being human.
This new season of the work turns the lens on Shakespeare’s characters living through COVID-19, featuring actors from Australia and around the world. Reflecting a plethora of experiences in lockdown, including mental health issues, death of a loved one, Zoom dating and more, we train a lens on the shared human experience that connects us, despite our physical separation – using Shakespeare’s characters and original text.

Starring Leo Atkin, Dominic Brewer, Don Bridges, Maya Cohen, Frank Collison, Tim Constantine, Mark Dickinson, Danielle Farrow, Laura Gardner, Jodi Haigh, Philip Hayden, Justin Hosking, Christopher Kirby, Emma Kniebe, Jessica Martin, Sally McLean, Mark McMinn, Robert Myles, Yolanda Ovide, Sarah Peachey, Miguel Perez, Sass Pinci, Phoebe Anne Taylor and Caris Vujcec, this third season of Shakespeare Republic is our response to the global pandemic that began shutting down the world in March of 2020.

Welcome to Shakespeare Republic Season Three!

General content warning: this series contains discussion and/or depiction of isolation, death, drug use, illness and/or mental health. For those in need of support at this, or at any time, please reach out to your official national helpline. SEE LIST HERE

In March 2020, we began inviting actors from around the globe to submit a 1-2 minute Shakespeare monologue as a self-test audition (filmed on their phones at home). We realised, for the first time, that we could truly take this work global – one of the silver linings of this situation – and what better way to celebrate our 5th Birthday year than to challenge ourselves with this new way of filming with actors all over the world?

As of early April, rehearsals with the first round of actors had begun and by June we began filming the first block of episodes – with Republic Creator/Director, Sally McLean directing the actors live via Zoom as they recorded their episodes on their smartphones in their homes. The cast became their own crew, under Sally’s guidance, working across four different time zones and six different cities across the globe.

The season officially began streaming in August 2020 on the Shakespeare Republic Facebook Page and showcased here on the official site – available for free for the world to see. All teasers, episodes and behind the scenes videos are available on Incognita Enterprises YouTube channel as well.

So what can you expect from this season? Well, with previous episodes featuring Hamlet as Media Advisor to a Government Minister, Juliet as one half of a same-sex couple in a Skype conversation, Phebe as an entitled Gen Y drunk texting, Macbeth as a politician about to metaphorically knife an opponent, a female Hamlet weary from the corporate cut and thrust, a performance of Sonnet 18 as a eulogy, Viola as inner-Melbourne hipster, Jaques as a melancholic barfly, Katherina as an ambitious politician’s wife, Henry V as a member of a laser strike team – and everything in-between – anything is possible!